News and Entertainment

ICC Has Announced the First World Test Championship Schedule

World Test Championship Schedule

ICC has announced the schedule for first World Test Championship on Wednesday 20 June. The nine top-ranked teams from the world will compete with each other in the tournament, with each side playing six series on a home-and-away basis against mutually selected opponents in the two-year cycle.

The tournament will soon start after the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, with the Ashes in England set to kickstart the event.

The International Cricket Council has for long attempted to add context to bilateral cricket. The chief executive David Richardson said the creation of the championship – along with a 13 cricket team one-day international league that will do as a qualification pathway to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 – would do just that.

The long-anticipated test championship tournament has finally been set in stone, with comprise the world’s nine top-ranked teams discovering the calendar with the announcement of the ICC’s Future Tour Programme (FTP).

ICC Has Announced the First World Test Championship Schedule
ICC Has Announced the First World Test Championship Schedule (Picture Source: via Reuters Photo)

Australia and England will start the tournament with the Ashes next year, with India and New Zealand playing West Indies and Sri Lanka respectively at the same time.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday 20 June has provided the details on the inaugural World Test Championship. The World Test Championship was praised highly by the heads of International Cricket Council member countries.

The main idea of the tournament is to bring more context to bilateral Test cricket. It will be played from July 15, 2019, to April 30, 2021.

Cricket South Africa Chief Executive Thabang Moroe said that it was “a win-win situation for all”.

Each team in the tournament will play six series over a period of almost two years, with the top two Test series progressing through to the final. The first World Test Championship tournament will start with the Ashes in the year 2019.

Leave A Reply