News and Entertainment

Who Will Be The New Captain For A One-Off Test Match Against Afghanistan?

India will soon to face off with Afghanistan in the important one-off Test match which is expected to commencing on June 14 in Bengaluru at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Virat Kohli will not play the one-off Test match against Afghanistan as he will be preparing himself for the forthcoming England tour and playing county cricket for Surrey.

Afghanistan is all set for their Test debut against India at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru from June 14, 2018. The one-off Test contest has been named the Indo-Afghanistan Friendship Series.

Ajinkya Rahane, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Ravichandran Ashwin and Jasprit Bumrah who will travel with India A team and Ishant Sharma and Cheteshwar Pujara who will stay back in England to carry on with their respective counties.

This leaves the Indian team with limited options for the captaincy role against Afghanistan one-off Test match.

Ajinkya Rahane is expected to captain India for Test match against Afghanistan. Ajinkya Rahane was instrumental in India’s only win in the three-Test series against South Africa earlier this year. Ajinkya Rahane may be moved one spot up to play at no.4, the place usually occupied by Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma may get one more chance to impress the selectors.

Who will be the new captain for a one-off Test match against Afghanistan?
Virat Kohli and Team (Picture Source: via AP)

To complete the squad and to give deserving players a chance to be in the Indian team, the likes of Prithvi Shaw, Siddharth Kaul and Karun Nair may find themselves in contention for selection.

Team India might want to put their full focus on the Afghanistan one-off Test match, despite having the England tour on the back of their mind.

Possible India Test Squad for the one-off Test against Afghanistan:

Mayank Agarwal, Ajinkya Rahane (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd Shami, Prithvi Shaw, Siddharth Kaul, Karun Nair, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah

Leave A Reply